KFC (Metrotown)

When I was a kid, I used to like KFC (back then, it was still called Kentucky Fried Chicken).  I should clarify… I used to like the chicken skin from KFC.  Things were simpler back then… chicken places served chicken and burger places served burgers.  While I’m not a big fan of KFC’s regular chicken anymore (I find it too dry and the skin overly spiced), I still try their chicken burgers every now and again.

Recently, they came out with a new burger called the Zinger.  I was a bit disappointed with the level of spiciness for this burger given all of the flames shown on the pictures in their menu.  The chicken is supposedly marinated in hot and spicy seasonings and then double breaded to give it an extra crispy taste.  It is crispy… I’ll give it that.  But it’s far from spicy.

On the plus side, KFC’s fries have gotten better over time.  They used to be very soggy but are now quite crispy.

Church’s Chicken has a much better Hot and Sweet Chicken Burger that combines the hotness of their spicy chicken with the sweetness of their coleslaw.

I’ve tried some of KFC’s other new dishes like their Chicken Bowl (a nice idea but poorly executed concoction of mashed potatoes, gravy, corn, popcorn chicken and cheese) and their heart attack inducing Double Down Sandwich but none of them are as good as you might think they would be.

I do miss the onion nuggets that we used to get at KFC but I rarely see it advertised anymore.

Food:  2.5 / 5
Service:  2.5 / 5

4820 Kingsway
Burnaby, BC

www.kfc.ca

KFC (Metrotown) on Urbanspoon

Posted on September 18, 2011, in Casual - burgers and stuff, Chicken, Restaurant Review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I make my own onion nuggets that reminds me of the KFC version – (they still have them here, but I haven’t been in a while – can’t afford it) – I use a ‘just add water’ buttermilk pancake mix but use less water so it will coat the onion, then I cut my onions into chunks, drop it in the mixture, then one at a time drop into hot oil, turn when brown, serve immediately. I’ve also frozen them, and while they can be reheated in the microwave they will be soggy, so I prefer using the oven. These are way cheaper to make and I can have them anytime I get a craving.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.