Savary Island Pie Company

While I’ve never been much of a pie-eater before (I’m more of a cake-person), I have to admit that my interest in pies peaked while watching Pushing Daisies a few years ago.  In that show, Ned, the main character (who has the unique ability to bring people back to life – with possible dire consequences) runs a place call The Pie Hole.

Well, we’ve been meaning to try out Savary Island Pie Company in West Vancouver for quite a while and finally managed to drop by one weekend.  This small little shop reminds me of The Bakehouse in Dundarave – in addition to serving bakery items, they also serve breakfast dishes and have their menus written on a large chalkboard menu on the wall.

I’m not a coffee drinker but I’ve often been impressed by the various latte art that coffee-drinkers get.  I was pleasantly impressed that my Hot Chocolate came with a leaf drawn in it.  Pleasant aesthetics aside, this was one a pretty good cup of hot chocolate.

The Chicken Pot Pie was pretty good with a crumbly crust encasing free-range chicken, peas and carrots.  We were more impressed, however, with the European Tomato Soup that it came with… we weren’t exactly sure what was in this delectable homemade soup but whatever it was, it was good.

Unlike The Bakeshop in Dundarave, Savary Island’s breakfast offerings is limited to omlettes and scrambles.  I was hoping for benedicts but the scrambled eggs did turn out pretty good in my Savary Scamble dish.  Along with the three scrambled eggs, you get seared black forest ham, aged white cheddar, sliced tomatoes, and your choice of toast made from their freshly baked bread.

Forgetting that we were going to be heading out for Afternoon Tea at the Fairmont later in the day, I also ordered these Blueberry and Raspberry Scones.  They were perfectly crumbly and light even the following day.

Here’s what we came for… pie!  I have to admit, the pies here were really good.  We picked up slices of the Raspberry Blueberry Pie and the Lemon Buttermilk with Berries Pie.

My favourite was the Lemon Buttermilk but I was surprised that there weren’t many berries in the pie considering there was an option to have Lemon Buttermilk with or without berries.

I would probably come back here for the pies or the bakery items but if I was in the mood for breakfast, the better option would be the nearby Bakehouse in Dundarave or The Truffle House Cafe.

The shop could really use a bit of an update… it’s pretty cramped in this tiny bakeshop and the tables and chairs are a bit rickety.

Food:  4 / 5
Service:  4 / 5

1533 Marine Drive
West Vancouver, BC

www.savaryislandpiecompany.com

Savary Island Pie Company on Urbanspoon

Posted on March 25, 2012, in Bakery, Breakfast, Brunch, Restaurant Review and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

