Horizons Restaurant

It’s been a long time since I’ve been to Horizons… so much so that I can’t recall what it looked like before the renovations.

Truth be told, the place didn’t look very different – but I suppose one could be excused for not noticing the changes since the expansive view from Burnaby Mountain is one of the main draws to this restaurant.

The one drawback to Horizons is the road up the mountain.  In the daylight, it’s not too difficult to find your way up the small winding road.  But at nighttime, it’s quite easy to miss the turn off.

I started out my meal with a Horizons Punch – a mix of pineapple, orange, cranberry juice, and sprite.

The Westcoast Seafood Chowder was very good – it was chock full of fresh seafood in a nice creamy tomato base.

The last time I dined here, I had the best trout dish that I’ve ever had.  Up until that point, I had never really enjoyed trout too much but there are still days now that I fondly recall that meal.  So when I saw the menu this night, I knew right away that I was going to order the Lois Lake Steelhead.  The pink hue of the flesh might make you think that this is salmon but it is in fact trout (and more flavourful than the regular rainbow trout).  Wood grilled with sea scallops with a balsamic browned butter glaze and served with Yukon gold mashed potatoes, the Steelhead trout was both moist and had delicate flakes.

While this trout dish wasn’t as good as the first one I had at Horizons, it was still pretty darn good.  The Chocolate Caramel Pecan Tart had a very sturdy crust – so much so that I had a lot of difficulty breaking it with my fork.  Despite this, the tart was pretty good and I didn’t have a problem polishing this dessert off.

Food:  4.5 / 5
Service:  4 / 5

100 Centennial Way
Burnaby, BC

www.horizonsrestaurant.com

Horizons on Urbanspoon

Posted on May 15, 2012, in Restaurant Review, Seafood, West Coast and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

