Cactus Club (Byrne Road) – Soup, Salad, and Lighter Options

Next up on our list of revisits is Cactus Club (Byrne Road).   This time around, we’ll be looking at some of the lighter options on their menu including soups, salads, and lighter fare.

“Celeriac” sound kind of exotic but it’s just a root vegetable.  The aged cheddar adds to the creaminess of this soup.

Make sure you drink this soup quickly because it loses flavour when it gets cold.

The Rocket Salad is appropriately named – as you can see, the baby arugula drizzled with a lemon caper dressing is piled high atop the panko and parmesan breaded chicken.

Years ago, I had my first veggie burger at a Cactus Club (back when it was known for having cute little cow figurines all over the restaurant) and I wasn’t very impressed.  I have to admit that I was a little apprehensive to try out this burger but I was surprised at how good it was.  Served with sea-salted fries, the grilled veggie patty is topped with tons of sautéed mushrooms, lettuce, tomatoes, pickles and cheese.

And unlike the veggie burger that I had years ago, this one didn’t taste like a piece of cardboard.  While I don’t think this burger will turn me into a vegetarian, I was happily satisfied with my meal – one of the best veggie burgers I’ve had.

The Grilled Albacore Tuna Club is a relatively new item on their menu and pairs three of my favourite things:  tuna, bacon, and capers.  But really, the tarragon tartar sauce was dreamy.  The only drawback is that I think they lightly brush olive oil on the ciabatta bun and that makes it a bit messy to pick up – otherwise, the ciabatta itself was perfect and held up well without falling apart.  The fish was grilled lightly and the bacon was thinly sliced so it didn’t overpower the tuna.

With summer here now, these lighter options are perfect when you’re not looking for something too heavy.

7320 Market Crossing
Burnaby, BC

www.cactusclubcafe.com

Cactus Club Cafe (Byrne Road) on Urbanspoon

Posted on July 10, 2012, in Casual - burgers and stuff, Restaurant Review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

