Keg Steakhouse and Bar (New West) – Mushroom Madness

My choice for dinner is usually the same when I hit the Keg.  Over the years, I’ve tried many of their other items… from the prime rib to the sirloins and the chicken dishes.  But I always find myself coming back to the rib steak. 

The Keg used to serve a 16oz boneless ribeye steak but are now offering a 20oz bone-in Rib Steak with Twice Baked Potato.  Usually, this is served with sautéed mushrooms and deep fried shoestring onions.  When my plate arrived sans mushrooms, I asked the waitress who first said that she didn’t think it came with mushrooms and then quickly said she wasn’t sure so she would go check.  A minute later, she came back and said that my dish didn’t come with mushrooms but I could add some veggies if I wanted.

<Editor’s Note:  If you don’t want to spend the next 2 minutes of your life reading a rant about missing mushrooms, just skip to the bottom of the page.>

Despite being pretty sure it said on the menu that it came with mushrooms, I didn’t bother to push it any further and just enjoyed my steak as-is.  As you can see from some of my previous posts on the Keg (like here), the dish used to be served with sautéed mushrooms.  In fact, if you look at their menu online, it does indeed say it comes served with mushrooms.

So what’s the big deal about a few mushrooms?  It’s just basically a fungus after all… or is it?

To me, it’s not so much a matter of a couple of mushrooms.  The Keg is a fairly large chain-style restaurant.  You go to a chain-style restaurant expecting the same or similar food experiences at each location.  I expect that if their menu says something, you should be able to trust it.

If it was a simple matter of not having any mushrooms available that night, they could have offered to substitute it with something else.  But to claim that the dish isn’t served with something that it clearly states on their menu just speaks volumes to the knowledge level of the menu by the staff.  For a split second, I thought of asking the waitress to see the menu again so I could show her the error but in the end, I didn’t want to go there.

Besides the issue with the mushrooms, the rib steak was cooked with due care (I picked Chicago-style, medium-rare) and it was so large that I wound up taking about 1/2 of it home.

Would I come back?  Probably.  But next time I would make them double-check their menu.

800 Columbia Street
New Westminster, BC

www.kegsteakhouse.com

Keg Steakhouse and Bar - New Westminster on Urbanspoon

Posted on September 26, 2012, in Restaurant Review, Steakhouse and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

