Tealips Bubble Tea & Coffee

Tealips is located behind Highgate Mall in Burnaby and serves up some of my fav foods… bubble tea – check, waffles – check, sandwiches – check.

When I arrived at 11am on a Wednesday morning, the place was empty… which, as it turns out, worked perfectly for me since they make everything fresh while you wait.

I ordered up a Honeydew Milk Tea with 1/2 Mango Jelly which was quite good.  The mango jelly was in the shape of tiny rectangular bricks – I was kind of hoping that they would be in the shape of stars (I know some places have mango jelly stars but I can’t remember which ones).

Apparently Tealips is known for their shaved ice and other desserts but I wanted something a bit more substantial so I ordered up a H & B Sandwich ($6.75).  I’m not really sure why they felt the need to abbreviate “Ham & Bacon” but I suppose  it didn’t fit on the menu.

I was quite surprised at how good the sandwich was… I would choose this over Subway any day.  The herb and garlic focaccia is hand-pressed and had just the right amount of crunchiness to it.  Tie that together with smoked bacon, lettuce, tomato and swiss cheese and you have an awesome sandwich.  My only complaint would be that it’s quite easy to get the herbs stuck in between your teeth as you devour this tasty meal.

Apparently, they only serve sandwiches between 11am and 5pm so if you have a hankering to try one out… make sure you drop by for lunch.  I liked my sandwich so much that I wound up coming back here the following day to try out one of their other sandwiches.

I couldn’t leave without trying a waffle so I ordered up a Mixed Berries dessert waffle ($4.75).  You can choose between Liège and Brussels waffles so I picked the Liège (which is denser, sweeter, and chewier). In addition to slices of strawberries and some really large blackberries, the waffle is served with ice cream covered in cocoa powder and whipped cream.  I can’t say that this was as good as the ones that we’ve had at Pâtisserie Lebeau but it was prepared quite well.  I think the addition of 1 or 2 more berry types would have made it so much better.

As I mentioned, I couldn’t help but come back to Tealips the next day to try another one of their sandwiches… namely the Brie.  This time around though, I got the combo for $9.50 that comes served with your choice of soup or salad.  The soup I picked was a hearty Minestrone served up piping hot in a large coffee mug.    This is the kind of soup that eats like a meal with pasta, beans, and chickpeas/lentils (I always get chickpeas and lentils confused).

In addition to the slices of brie that’s served on the hand-pressed herb and garlic focaccia, you get the same fresh lettuce, tomatoes, and ham that comes on the H & B.  But to kick it up a notch, they also add walnuts and balsamic vinegar which pairs nicely with the brie.

This is a great little place to pick up some food and chill out with the free wifi.  Since they make everything as you order, be prepared for a wait if there are a lot of other customers.

7139 Arcola Way
Burnaby, BC

Tealips Bubble Tea & Coffee on Urbanspoon

Posted on November 17, 2012, in Desserts, Restaurant Review, Sandwiches, Waffles and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

