Kamamarui Ramen & Sushi

Kamamarui Ramen & Sushi is a new Japanese restaurant that opened up on Royal Oak (taking the place of the former Royal Oak Sushi House that closed due to unfortunate circumstances).  I was a bit apprehensive of dining here given the history at this location but then I remembered the storied history of nearby Sushi Oyama and how much I enjoy the food there that I decided to put those thoughts aside.

The inside of this restaurant has grey walls and white landscaping stones around the perimeter (I’m assuming the white stones is some type of “protection” feng shui thing – I’ve seen similar things with the use of sea salt before).

One of the design elements that I didn’t like was the boxy seat and tables.  The chairs didn’t have a back for support and the tables made it difficult to sit at.  The good side is that they don’t squish you in as the tables are spaced fairly far apart.

They have a relatively simple menu that’s presented on a single sheet of paper… mainly ramen, sushi, and appetizers.  Despite that, the place was fairly busy during my lunchtime visit.  The waiter, who always seems to be smiling, told me that it would take awhile for my order to come up because they just had a lot of orders come in.  He was very apologetic and said that it’s not usually busy at lunch time (I suppose this place has gotten more popular).

While I waited for my lunch, there was Asian pop music playing in the background but not overly loud.  They also brought out my tea along with a carafe so I could refill at my leisure.

I ordered the Spicy Tonkotsu Ramen Combo ($10) – they only have the one type of ramen but you can get it either regular or spicy and add extra toppings for a price.  However, the combo comes with a special onigiri that they call the “Bomb” which is basically rolled up rice balls with seasoned seaweed and teriyaki sauce.

They also brought out extra sauce bowls that I could use to add an extra spicy kick or to add more miso flavouring.  I must say that the chashu (sliced pork) wasn’t anything like the bbq pork that you get at Chinese butcher shops.  It was super tender while still being meaty.  As for the noodles, they were firm and had a good texture to the bite.

I also added a Soft Egg appy dish ($1.50) which came presented in a small saucer.  The poached egg was soft but the yolk wasn’t completely runny.  It was difficult to eat out of the saucer but I wound up using the rice balls to soak up the egg yolk with.

By itself, I think the Bomb lacked some flavour – I would have loved to see it with some fillings instead of just plain.

There’s not a lot of parking behind the restaurant (which is mainly reserved for the nearby bank) but there is metered parking along Kingsway.  They open Tuesday to Sunday from 11:30am to 9pm with a midday closure from 3-5pm.

The food’s pretty good here and it seems like they take their time with their dishes so it might not be the best place if you’re in a rush.

6514 Royal Oak Avenue
Burnaby, BC

Kamamarui Ramen & Sushi on Urbanspoon

Posted on February 23, 2014, in Japanese, Noodle House, Restaurant Review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

