Georgio’s Cafe & Pizzeria – Filipino BBQ Skewers

There are just so many things that seem wrong with this hole-in-the-wall restaurant that I was almost hesitant to try the food.  But, since I drive by this place 4 times a day, I figured it’s about time I tried it out.  I used to think that Georgio’s was just another pizza joint catering to the nearby high school.  And while they seem to do brisk lunch business with the teenagers looking for $3 poutine, I came for the Filipino style BBQ chicken and pork.

The first thing that set off alarm bells was when I walked into the shop.  To call it “dingy” would be a compliment…  It’s more ghetto than anything else.

While there’s a large menu board hanging from the ceiling, it’s all blank save for a small hand-scribbled sign for poutine, spaghetti, ham & cheese sandwich, and pizza.  I’m guessing the highschool kids come here for the cheap pizza and poutine.

Not seeing any indication of the Filipino BBQ skewers that I was looking for, I asked the lady behind the counter and she said it was $7.50 for 2 skewers plus java rice, salad, and jalepeno slices.  It was quiet when I stopped by and the grill was turned off so it took a while for the grill to get hot again.  After about ten minutes, the smoke coming off the meat and grill really started to get going and she packed up my order to go.

By this time, I was really starting to think twice about trying the food but, along the drive home, the smell of the food started to permeate the air.  You know the smell… perfectly grilled meat like at a backyard cookout.

Despite my previous misgivings, I was pleasantly surprised to find that these pork and chicken skewers were actually pretty good.  The salad was just cut up pieces of lettuce but the java rice (although not spectacular) went nicely with the meat.

Food:  3.5 / 5
Service:  3 / 5

5236 Rumble Street ***UPDATE: CLOSED***
Burnaby, BC

Georgio's Cafe & Pizzeria (Georgio's BBQ) on Urbanspoon

Posted on October 21, 2011, in Filipino, Pizza, Restaurant Review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

Leave a Reply

