Tivoli’s (Burnaby) – Trio of Eggs Benedict

There’s been many times when I would read a menu description and be totally surprised by what turns up on the table… sometimes for the good, sometimes for the worse. 

When I found myself at Tivoli’s (located in the Executive Inn in Burnaby) for breakfast, I thought for sure I knew what to expect but I was pleasantly surprised.

First off, however, I started out with the Lemon Green Tea ($3.00) – it was quite smooth.

I ordered the Tivoli’s Eggs Benedict ($15.00) described in the menu as “classic poached eggs with Canadian back bacon, Pacific salmon, sautéed spinach, hollandaise sauce and hash browns”.  I was actually expecting to get two poached eggs and for the bacon, salmon, and spinach to be combined on each… a little odd I thought but it sounded interesting.

As it turns out, you actually get a trio of eggs benedicts served up in 3 different yet yummy styles.  The eggs were cooked with the perfect amount of runny yolk and the English muffin had a subtle crisp to it that went well with the creamy hollandaise.

My only complaint about this dish is the poor excuse for hash browns – these were way too mushy for my liking.  Given the nice golden colour, I expected them to be at least a little crispy.

Being inside the Executive Inn, this little restaurant was very quiet when I visited – the only diners appeared to be guests staying in the hotel.

4201 Lougheed Hwy
Burnaby, BC

Tivoli’s at the Executive Inn

Tivoli's (Executive Hotel Burnaby) on Urbanspoon

Posted on August 1, 2012, in Breakfast, North American, Restaurant Review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

