Bernie’s Balkan Kitchen – Burek and Schnitzel

Bernie’s Balkan Kitchen has been located near the corner of Kingsway and Edmonds for a number of years but, as I understand it, they plan on moving due to the impending redevelopment of the area. 

As I mentioned on my post on the nearby Balkan House, the term “Balkan” can refer to a number of Eastern and Southeastern European countries.

On my first visit, I decided to try their Chicken Schnitzel with Rice ($8.99) served with goulash gravy.  The chicken was tender and was encrusted with a crispy breading.  By itself, it was fine… but adding the beef goulash gravy was the kicker.

IMG_20130423_120320

I enjoyed it so much that I came back later to pick up some burek for dinner.  I’ve never heard of burek before but the friendly staff were happy to explain it all.  They have 3 different varieties:  cheese, cheese and spinach, and beef… all of which, they assured me, were quite filling and they make fresh every day.  I picked up a cheese and spinach burek and a beef burek to go ($7.50 gets you a quarter of the round burek sliced in two) and I tossed it in the oven for ten minutes to heat it up and get the crispiness back.

IMG_20130423_165403IMG_20130423_165617

The burek is made with wonderfully flaky phyllo and it is indeed filling despite how light and airy the phyllo is. They also have a few other items available at lunch like stuffed peppers and cabbage rolls.

7340 Kingsway
Burnaby, BC

***Update: Bernie’s has moved to 3484 Kingsway (@ the Ramada Hotel) in Vancouver

Bernie's Balkan Kitchen on Urbanspoon

Posted on June 29, 2013, in Balkan, Eastern European, Restaurant Review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. where did they move too? I went there a few months ago and they had left a hand written sign in the window saying, they’re moving to another Kingsway location…. but where?

    • I’ve heard rumors that their new location is 3484 Kingsway in Vancouver but it’s unconfirmed. If they’re not open yet, I’m assuming they probably have to renovate first.

Leave a Reply

