Japadog (Robson) – Terimayo Combo

Do you remember your first Japadog?  As I’ve mentioned on some previous posts, I don’t get downtown very often any more (both by choice and due to circumstance).  I do, however, remember when the only hot dog stands on the streets were those small push cart vendors selling their plain old smokies to passerbys. 

If you were to tell me that one day I’d be eating a hot dog with seaweed on it, I probably wouldn’t have believed you.  But I figured that it was time that I check out what all the fuss was all about.

The Robson location is Japadog’s first storefront shop and I visited early on a sunny Saturday morning in May.  I was a bit surprised that there were other patrons also looking to get their hot dog fix at 10am.  I decided to ease myself into the whole Japadog experience and try out their Terimayo Combo ($7.64) with came with fries and a pop.

The Butter & Shoyu Shaked Fries are supposed to be their most popular flavor but I wasn’t very impressed.  They were crispy but I suppose I was expecting the fries to be more buttery in flavour.  The shoyu did add to the saltiness of the fries as well – perhaps one of their other varieties would have been better.

IMG_20130504_101137IMG_20130504_101703

The Terimayo comes with teriyaki sauce, mayo and seaweed and lives up to its reputation.  It’s a bit messy but well worth the mayo dripping all over the place.  The important thing is that the meat was super tasty… the unique toppings were just the kicker.

IMG_20130504_101545IMG_20130504_101618

If you’re one of the few people who haven’t tried a Japadog yet, what are you waiting for?  Personally though, I’d pass on the fries.

530 Robson Street
Vancouver, BC

www.japadog.com

Japadog on Urbanspoon

Posted on July 6, 2013, in Hot Dogs, Japanese, Restaurant Review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

