iThai Restaurant

Back in early February, the owners of Siam Thai sold their business in South Surrey and opened up a new Thai restaurant in South Burnaby called iThai.

The interior of this smallish restaurant (seats about 20-25 people) is clean and the service was relatively quick.

IMG_20130502_133411

They have 3 different lunch combos and I decided to try their Combo 1 ($8.95) which came with a bowl of hot and sour soup.  I found that the soup had plenty of pepper in it which gave it some kick but it didn’t have that characteristic sour tang to it.

The ginger chicken also comes served with steamed rice and a spring roll.  The spring roll was very crispy and was filled with plenty of rice noodles but not much else.  I also wasn’t a big fan of the dipping sauce that came with the dish.

The ginger chicken itself tasted pretty good and had plenty of carrots, celery, snow peas, baby carrots, onions, green peppers, black fungus strips, and green onions.  Given the name, I was a bit surprised that the dish didn’t have a bigger ginger flavour to it.  I think the presentation would have been better if the ginger chicken came served in a bowl because it was very saucy and looked a bit messy on the plate.  On the plus side, I sopped up all of the sauce with the rice.

IMG_20130502_133523IMG_20130502_134444

I decided to bring some take-out home with me.  You can specify your preferred level of spiciness from 1 (not spicy) to 4 (very spicy) and I opted for 4 because I like the heat.

First up was the Pad Thai with Beef ($10.95) which came with egg, bean sprouts, green onions, carrots, and tofu.

I know that it might look like red curry but I actually ordered the Green Curry Chicken ($9.95).  It’s just that, because I ordered a level 4 spiciness, they really went to town with the hot chili oil.  While I do enjoy spicy food, this was probably a bit too hot because it was difficult to enjoy the flavours of the dish.  Next time, I’ll probably stick with a level 2 or level 3.

IMG_20130502_143758IMG_20130502_143954

The food’s not bad… think I prefer it over nearby Lhy Thai which really lacks any spicy kick.

7413 Edmonds Street
Burnaby, BC

www.ithai7413.com

iThai Restaurant on Urbanspoon

Posted on July 9, 2013, in Restaurant Review, Thai and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

