The Red Wagon – Super Trucker

The popularity of The Reg Wagon doesn’t seem to be waning much.  We came by for breakfast on a Friday morning and there was a small wait for this tiny diner.

On my last visit, I had the crisp pork belly which was really well prepared.  I’ve been looking for a chance to bring my honey here to show her some of the food.  She picked the BBQ Brisket and Eggs with Cornbread ($14).  Underneath the over easy eggs were 2 slices of cornbread that had a nice crisp to the exterior… the brisket was spot on as well.

20130719_095753

I wanted to try a little bit of everything so I opted for the Super Trucker ($14.75) with rye bread, 2 pulled pork pancakes, crisp pork belly, and 2 eggs served with potatoes.

20130719_095745

Just like last time, the crisp pork belly was really good and had a good bark mixed with the buttery fatty bits.  While I’m not usually a pancake fanantic, I have to admit that the pancakes here were super fluffy.  I think I would have preferred the pulled pork on the side (like I had last time) since all of the juices got soaked up in the pancakes.

The Red Wagon is a solid (but busy) breakfast joint in East Van.  Service is pretty friendly as well.  If you don’t mind a wait in line and the somewhat loud interior din of other patrons, you’re sure to enjoy the food.

2296 East Hastings Street
Vancouver, BC

www.redwagoncafe.com

The Red Wagon on Urbanspoon

Posted on September 20, 2013, in Breakfast, Brunch, Diner, Restaurant Review and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

