La Grotta Del Fromaggio – The Cave of Cheese

Located next to Fratelli Bakery on The Drive is La Grotta Del Fromaggio… or the The Cave of Cheese.

When I was younger, I thought that they only sold cheese here. But then, on a visit to Fratelli, I noticed that it’s more like an Italian grocery store that also serves things like freshly made sandwiches (much like Benny’s Market in Strathcona).

IMAG1936I also noticed that they sell those cute little Italian candies that you get at some restaurants.  I just love these things and they come in an assortment of colours.

They have small pouches of these that you can buy or, as I learned, you can actually buy a huge bag of these (I think I had bought a 2kg bag once).

The thing is that these candies don’t last forever (especially in heat) so it’s better to just buy a small bag unless you’re got a really big sweet tooth.

Back to the hand-crafted sandwiches… you can choose pretty much everything that you could want for your sandwich including the type of bread and all of the toppings.  I picked a medium sub ($7) which they brushed with olive oil and vinegar, edam cheese, mortadella, chipotle mayo, dijon mustand and a little bit of all of the veggie toppings (including lettuce, tomato, red onions, roasted peppers, artichoke hearts, green olives, hot peppers, and what I think was pickled eggplant).

20131230_12511520131230_132034

Then they grill the whole thing up in one of their panini presses.  This place gets really busy during the lunch rush and I have to say that the sandwich was pretty good if you’re looking for an Italian-style sandwich.

1791 Commercial Drive
Vancouver, BC

La Grotta Del Formaggio on Urbanspoon

Posted on March 16, 2014, in Candy, Italian, Restaurant Review, Sandwiches and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I love the great selection of deli meats that you can get on your sandwich at La Grotta. You can really taste the superior quality of their ingredients compared to that of the big franchised sandwich shops.

  2. Mortadella is my absolute favorite. I’m so there.

Leave a Reply

