Long’s Noodle House – Steamed Mini Pork Buns (aka XLB)

This place should seriously be called Long’s Steamed Mini Pork Buns House. They’re that good.

The restaurant itself, located near Au Petit Cafe, is super tiny. I arrived for an early dinner but they weren’t open yet. However, when I returned five minutes later, they were already packed. They wound up sitting me at a large table (not wanting to waste one of the four-person tables on me). But that suited me just fine as I had the table all to myself during my visit.

Steamed Mini Pork Buns ($6.50) – also known as Xiao Long Bao – these were the reason for my visit. I was pleasantly surprised that they did not disappoint. The sides of the dumplings were super thin and you could see thru to the ample amount of soup in the pocket. But these dumplings weren’t just juicy, they were also flavourful. And it didn’t take long for this dish to arrive as they had a guy in the corner who seemed to be solely dedicated to making them.

20140725_17291920140725_173103

Since this is a noodle house, I figured I should try some noodles too. I ordered the Shanghai Fried Noodle ($8.95). The noodles were quite firm – not bad, but it could have used more sauce.

The Deep Fried Pastry with Beef ($5.95) was the last to arrive. It had a flaky pastry surrounding a small amount of stewed beef shank and cabbage.

20140725_17324920140725_173820

Definitely one of the best XLB that I’ve had… just wish this restaurant was a little bigger.

I finally made it back to Long’s in October and the restaurant was just as busy. This time around, we didn’t have to wait either because we were fine with sharing one of the large tables.

The Beef Rolls ($6.50) was better than the Deep Fried Pastry with Beef that I had previously as the wrapper wasn’t as puffy and flaky. The Beef Rolls had a wrapper that was a bit chewy and the hoisin had a pleasantly sweet taste. I just wish the roll had more meat inside of it.

This time around, we had to wait a while for the Steamed Mini Pork Buns to arrive. Still, they were just as juicy as I remembered. The skin on the XLB are super thin and easy to tear. I wish we had larger spoons because the regular soup spoons that they have are too small to catch all of the juices if you accidentally break the skin.

20141011_13152520141011_133325

We rounded out our meal with the Singapore Fried Rice Vermicelli ($9.50) – I always enjoy this dish but I wind up with yellow lips afterwards.

20141011_131606

It seemed like every table had the Drunken Chicken that came in the little green pot… we’ll probably have to try that out on our next visit here.

4853 Main Street
Vancouver, BC

Long's Noodle House 小龍記麵家 on Urbanspoon

Posted on November 6, 2014, in Chinese, Noodle House, Restaurant Review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

