Big Star Sandwich Company – Revisits

I always have trouble deciding what to order when I go to Big Star Sandwich on 12th. Do I stick with something that I know I love or do I try something new?

On a visit back in March, I tried the #11 Corned Beef, Turkey, Swiss, Mayo, Mustard, Lettuce, and Tomato with added hickory sticks. This sandwich was sooo good… just like their other sandwiches (check out our last post here).

I usually wind up ordering a combo to get a bag of chips and bottle of pop. They have some unique drinks here that I don’t see at a lot of other places. The Sparkmouth Ginger Ale from Phillips Soda Works screamed out to me with the picture of the “Godzilla” on it. This was a good drink and you could really taste the hand-mashed ginger in it. The raw cane sugar helps to add sweetness to the drink but it’s only slightly sweet.

20140312_115828

On another visit, I had their #2 Turkey, Bacon, Avocado, Cheddar, Lettuce, Tomato, Mayo and Honey Mustard combo with Sioux City Sarsaparilla. They use meaty chunks of turkey here and crisp shredded lettuce. The sarsaparilla is like root beer (and this particular brand was mentioned in The Big Lebowski as being a good one. It was okay, maybe not the “granddaddy of all root beers” like they report to be but still good nonetheless.

20140806_115019

705 12th Street
New Westminster, BC

www.bigstarsandwich.com

Big Star Sandwich Company on Urbanspoon

Posted on November 14, 2014, in Restaurant Review, Sandwiches and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

