L.A. Chicken – Best Fast-Food Fried Chicken

I’ve noticed that there is quite a few restaurants around the Lower Mainland starting with “LA”. Generally, they’re French restaurants… but every once in a while, you come across a restaurant like “LA Sushi” or “LA Chicken” and you know they’re not a French place.

Perhaps it’s a reference to “Los Angeles” or maybe someone’s own initials. In either case, I’ve been hearing about a ghetto chicken place in Richmond that serves up insanely good fried chicken. The comparisons that I’ve heard always reference how it’s like Church’s Chicken – only better.

Since I’ve always preferred Church’s over KFC, I knew that one day, I’d have to come down here and try them out. When I arrived around 2:30pm in the afternoon, I was expecting the place to be rather dead but there was quite a few patrons in this tiny shop.

I ordered the Ten Piece Leg and Thigh ($19.00) – extra crispy… this is my usual order with Church’s too. I added a medium gravy for $1.89. It’s too bad they didn’t have any onion nuggets.

From what I’ve heard, some people have had to wait long times for their chicken to come out but I must have hit them just as a big batch came out of the fryer as it only took 2 minutes for my chicken to come out.

20140912_145920

The chicken, which is cooked in 100% canola oil, had a super crunchy coating but a very moist and tender chicken on the inside. I didn’t really think it would be better than Church’s but I have to admit… this is the best fast-food fried chicken that I’ve had. It’s certainly not going to be very healthy for you but it’s worth it if you’ve got the craving for fried chicken.

So if you’re the kind of person that likes Church’s Chicken, do yourself a favour and try LA Chicken.

160 – 11780 Thorpe Road
Richmond, BC

L.A. Chicken on Urbanspoon

Posted on January 10, 2015, in Chicken, Restaurant Review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Leave a Reply

