Cafe Zen on Yew – Breakfast in Kitsilano

Cafe Zen is a popular breakfast eatery located in the Kitsilano area of Vancouver. It’s so popular that I was a bit worried about having to wait in line. Thankfully, on my Friday morning visit in late October, while the restaurant appeared bustling, I was able to grab a table without waiting.

The place is seat-yourself and has a homey feel… right down to the checkerboard tablecloths. While the sun was thankfully shining outside, the weather was still a bit nippy so I opted for a Hot Chocolate with Whipped Cream ($3.99). Okay, let’s be honest… even if the weather was warm outside, I’d probably order a hot chocolate with whipped cream.

20141024_09580820141024_092500_LLS

One of the interesting things about Cafe Zen is that you can mix-and-match your bennies. I paired the Crab Benny with the Chorizo Benny ($12.89) which is served on an English muffin and their “famous” hollandaise sauce. It’s interesting how many restaurants in Vancouver have “famous” hollandaise sauce. I also added a side of bacon for $3.79.

I had forgotten to ask for my eggs to be soft poached so I was rather relieved that what arrived to the table was pretty good… somewhere in between soft and medium poached. The eggs seemed oddly uniform in shape – I wonder if they use some kind of mold? As for taste, the crab benedict was good with plenty of crab meat. I wasn’t so thrilled with the chopped up chorizo sausage but perhaps I should have picked something else. Also, the English muffin was too soft for my liking. On the other side, the hash browns had a perfectly crispy exterior.

20141024_09340920141024_093517

Meanwhile, the four bacon rashers weren’t limp but they weren’t super crispy either… I think they might have been overcooked a little as they wound up being more hard and difficult to chew instead of being simply crisp. As for the hollandaise sauce – at first, I thought it was pretty good. But the eggs were literally smothered in the sauce and the richness of the hollandaise started to become too much.

1631 Yew Street
Vancouver, BC

cafezenonyew.com

Cafe Zen on Yew on Urbanspoon

Posted on January 28, 2015, in Breakfast, Restaurant Review and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

