The Flying Pig (Gastown) – Bone Marrow Cheezy Bread

Although it’s been over a year and a half since our visit to The Flying Pig’s Yaletown location, my lunch-time visit to their Gastown location was not due to planning but mere happenstance.

I was actually planning to visit Tuc Craft Kitchen but found out that they were closed due to a private party (and after finding the perfect elusive parking spot – with time still in the meter I might add). It took me a second to comprehend my predicament and then I headed towards the heart of Gastown as I knew there were a number of good restaurants in the area. When I reached the corner of Water St. and Abbot St., I looked up and saw the sign for The Flying Pig. This location feels very cavernous inside with tall ceilings that are painted black.

Things started out pretty good. The service was friendly and quick even though they were quite busy with the noon hour rush. My complimentary bread with olive oil and balsamic vinegar dipping sauce arrived shortly after and was served warm. Nice crust to the bread with pillowy soft interior.

20141219_13021520141219_125845

For my main, I picked the Wild Seafood Pappardelle ($13.50) with mussels, clams, fish, and prawns in a spicy rose sauce. I was surprised to see one of the largest, plumpest mussels that I’ve ever seen before (there were 2 mussels in the dish – the second one was a medium to large size). I actually thought the pappardelle was a bit too firm for my liking and the rose sauce was a bit too watery.

20141219_130809

The best part of my meal was the Bone Marrow Cheezy Bread ($6.50) – I could eat this every single day. Now, to be honest, if you’re looking for a good hit of bone marrow, you’re not going to get it on the cheezy bread. If anything, it’s the essence of bone marrow that you’ll find. Still, it was very enjoyable with the perfect textures of the soft bread, the crispy exterior, the gooey cheese and the slight amount of heat that I felt after each bite.

20141219_130821

So, even though I didn’t plan on visiting The Flying Pig on this day, I was quite pleased with how things turned out. If you come here, try the cheezy bread… seriously!

Don’t forget to check out our post on their new location in the Olympic Village.

102 Water Street
Vancouver, BC

theflyingpigvan.com

The Flying Pig on Urbanspoon

Posted on February 8, 2015, in Restaurant Review, West Coast and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

