Congee Noodle House – Disappointing

I must admit that I’ve always confused “Congee Noodle House” located on Broadway with “Congee Noodle King” located on Kingsway. And while it’s true that they serve the same type of food and they’re both quite busy, they’re not exactly the same.

I was in a rush so I ordered some items to go but I found that Congee Noodle House was very slow. As it turns out, they forgot my order and didn’t realize it until one of the waitresses wondered why I was still there.

The Wonton in Chef Special Spicy Sauce was indeed very saucy… too much so for my liking. If anything, it was more of a sweet sauce rather than spicy but the wontons were okay.

20141222_142613_Richtone(HDR)20141222_154644

That’s more than I can say for the congee which were both very bland. Yes, I know congee is supposed to be bland but that’s usually just the plain version. I ordered the Hong Kong Minced Beef and the Sliced Chicken and Chinese Mushroom. The beef wasn’t minced and there were only 2 pieces of chinese mushrooms and both had no flavour whatsoever.

To top it off, they forgot my order of Chinese Donut which is probably the best part of ordering congee. Unfortunately, I didn’t notice until I got home.

The House Special Chow Mein had a good amount of noodles and wasn’t too bad but I wish that it had crispy noodles to offset all of the sauce.

20141222_15481120141222_154907

Overall, the service here is quite poor, even for a Chinese restaurant and the food’s just meh.

141 East Broadway
Vancouver, BC

Congee Noodle House 粥麵館 on Urbanspoon

Posted on March 11, 2015, in Chinese, Restaurant Review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. The only good thing that I can say about the Congee Noodle House is that they are open fairly late. The food is mediocre, but gets the job done (if someone remembers to bring it to you). On several occasions, a waitress has booked off her shift after I’ve ordered without assigning someone else to take over. The service has been almost non-existent and, without ever receiving a check, I have always had to go up to the cashier to let him or her try to figure out the bill. I have given up on the place, pretty much any other late night joint is a better option.

    • So it wasn’t just me? Good to know… I usually like to give a place the benefit of the doubt (especially if I’ve only been there once)… but so many things went wrong here. Oh well, live and learn 🙂

  2. Congee Noodle House has been and is our group’s regular get together for dinner. As in most Chinese restaurants you have to know what to order. Each Chinese restaurant has their best dishes. Depending what you what, you go to that restaurant. Not many Chinese restaurants are good at everything on their menu. We were last there for Chinese New Year dinner with lobster followed with much good food.

Leave a Reply

