Li’s China Grill – Hit and Miss with Poor Service

Li’s China Grill is a Chinese BBQ joint that’s known for their signature Grilled Whole Fish (either catfish, lingcod, skatefish, or rockfish) and right next door to Lucky Noodle. Pretty much every table had an order of this… except me.

Aside from their signature grilled fish, their menu is fairly limited. The ambiance isn’t much better… they’ve got cartons of pop containers stacked up along one wall and service was non-existent. Don’t bother asking for tea here… they’ve only got water.

I started out my meal with 2 skewers of Lamb and Rib Eye ($0.99 and $1.50 each respectively). I could smell the spices when they brought the skewers to my table but I was surprised at how small they were. To tell the truth, I couldn’t tell the lamb apart from the beef as they seemed overcooked and chewy. I also wasn’t a fan of the long metal skewers which made it difficult to eat.

20150326_17425520150326_174225

On the other side, I really enjoyed the Sliced Pork Belly ($7.99) which is an appetizer dish of extremely thinly-sliced fatty pork. In all of that sauce, it looks like it would be really spicy but it just had a bit of heat (although it was salty).

20150326_174510

I was disappointed with the Stir-Fried Rice with Egg and Sausage ($7.99) mainly because I was expecting them to use Chinese sausage instead of luncheon meat. I wound up pouring the sliced pork belly over the rice which made it much better.

20150326_174957

Dishes are kind of hit-and-miss here (but I suppose people come here for the grilled fish). Don’t expect any service here though.

3377 Kingsway
Vancouver, BC

Li's China Grill on Urbanspoon

Posted on May 13, 2015, in BBQ, Chinese, Restaurant Review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. No service = no need to tip 😉

Leave a Reply

