Shishinori – Too Subtle?

Shishinori has been on my list of places that I’ve wanted to try for a long time… mainly due to all of the pics of gorgeous food that I’ve seen in social media.

When I found out that their menu included Ahi Poke, I knew I had to come by here… it was over a month since we had gotten back from our trip to Hawaii and I was in serious poke withdrawal.

This is their Hawaii Ahi Poke meal ($14.50) which includes miso soup and a drink (we picked the Creamy Strawberry). First off, plating is rather nice and the inclusion of the greens makes for a colourful dish. We picked the shoyu ahi and found that the flavour was quite muted. Definitely not close to the ahi poke that we had in Hawaii. I also found the tuna to be a bit too slimy.

IMG_20151013_124329

The Unagi Kabayaki Meal ($15) came with coffee jello and a Mango Black Tea. The unagi was actually quite good but I found that the rice was a bit hard and dry. Both drinks, though colourful, had very subtle flavours.

IMG_20151013_124425

In truth, I was really hoping Shishinori was going to be better than it was. Yes, the food all looked enticing, but the flavours just weren’t there.

2328 Cambie Street
Vancouver, BC

Shishinori Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Posted on December 13, 2015, in Japanese, Restaurant Review and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Leave a Reply

