Umami Sushi – Cloverdale Crossing

I found myself out in the Cloverdale Crossing area back in October and decided to stop here for some lunch. If I knew that there were sushi places like Umami Sushi in Cloverdale, I’d spend more time out here.

The Wild Salmon Sashimi ($13.50) arrived in 8 pieces. The sashimi was the appropriate temperature and had a firmness to the flesh that you don’t see with the farmed variety. Loved the bright red colour and the clean finish.

IMG_20151021_112915

Now this is how you do a BC Roll! I often find myself ordering BC Rolls (because I love salmon skin) but I’m disappointed when the roll is filled with more salmon than skin. Here, the BC Roll ($3.95) had the perfect amount of crispy salmon skin inside the roll and there wasn’t too much rice wrapping it.

IMG_20151021_113256

The Chopped Scallop Cone ($3.95) had crunchy cucumber pieces in it and I found that, although the cone itself was loosely packed, there was filling in the bottom of the cone.

IMG_20151021_113305

IMG_20151021_113526

I also ordered the Unagi and Toro nigiri ($3.50 and $2.50 respectively). Unfortunately, the toro fell apart when I picked it up. The unagi was very good and had a slight chewy texture to the eel.

IMG_20151021_113326

The Gyoza ($3.95) was a pretty fair price. They had a perfectly crisp exterior that was wrapped around the hot filling.

IMG_20151021_113533

Overall, the food here is pretty good and I wouldn’t mind coming back to try some of their other dishes.

205 – 17725 64th Avenue
Surrey, BC

Umami Sushi Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Posted on December 28, 2015, in Japanese, Restaurant Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

