Chau Veggiexpress (Granville Island) – The Golden Temple Soup

Okay, first off… I’m not a vegetarian. I love me a good steak and think that the only thing better than crispy bacon is super fork-tender stewed pork belly. But when we were in Granville Island in May, I noticed that they opened up a new Chau Veggiexpress in the food court and figured I’d try them out.

I ordered the Golden Temple Soup ($11.75) – a light tumeric coconut curry soup with tofu, bean curd, taro, carrots, broccoli, cauliflower, mushrooms, kale, and a slice of lotus root. The first thing that I noticed is that it didn’t look anything like the picture on their menu… mostly because they piled the kale on top of everything and it was served in a plastic bowl.

IMG_20160521_112415

I wound up having to move some of the kale around so I could get a shot of the stuff underneath. This was actually a pretty good curry soup and I quite enjoyed the tumeric and coconut milk. The noodles were quite slippery and difficult to pick up – I wonder if it would have been better if I had proper utensils other than the bamboo chopsticks and plastic spoon?

IMG_20160521_112821

The soup was pretty spot on but I wasn’t a big fan of the kale… perhaps if it had been wilted a bit in the soup it would have been better. Oh, and if they could have added some rare beef to this dish or fried chicken… that would have been the bomb!

1689 Johnston Street
Vancouver, BC

www.chowatchau.ca

Chau Veggiexpress Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Posted on June 27, 2016, in Restaurant Review, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Tried the Golden Temple Soup at the Chau Veggie on Victoria last week. Give them credit for consistency, as it looks and sounds very similar. Found it bland though, and lacking in anything that would ID it for me as being Vietnamese influenced.

    • I didn’t even know it was supposed to be Vietnamese influenced… I would say it was more hipster/western influenced than anything else.

      • I guess that proves my point :-). I will say it felt healthy-ish, but a lot of Vietnamese food does. And we got some ‘tude at the Victoria shop as well, though we really appreciated the air conditioning on one of the few hot days in June!

  2. I would stay clear of this restaurant. They used to be great until they started expanding and getting too big for their own good. I used to eat here frequently, but the food quality and customer service has gone way down. Don’t bother with this place at all. Even if you have a bad experience, the manager will ignore you and takes your patronage for granted. I feel robbed (literally and mentally).

  1. Pingback: Kaisereck Deli – Perogy Plate | Penny and Rusty's Food Blog

Leave a Reply

