Sushi by Yuji – Popping Ikura

Let me preface this post by saying that I love eggs. Poached, fried, boiled… you name it. So when I saw social media light up a few months ago with glorious pictures of ikura (salmon roe) and quail eggs, my interest piqued.

This little restaurant is quite small and almost always busy. I managed to grab one of the last seats at the counter (there were a lot of tables that were set aside as reserved). Food started arriving after five minutes in waves as soon as it was prepared.

First off was the BC Roll ($3.50). These small maki sushi rolls had a good ratio of salmon-to-rice and, although the salmon skin was not super crispy, the BC Roll was quite good and a good value for the price.

20160706_195042

These nigiri were my real reason for coming here… Ikura with Egg ($3.50), Negitoro with Egg ($2.50), Spicy Chopped Scallop ($2.50), and Chopped Scallop ($2). The scallops were both plump and delicate while the ikura popped in my mouth. Truth be told, I kind of felt like the raw quail egg seemed to distract from the usual flavour of the negitoro (not that it was an unpleasant pairing). Overall, the sushi was quite creamy and I wouldn’t mind trying some of their other nigiri.

20160706_195250

I followed up the sushi with an order of Veggie Gyoza ($3.95) – these had a thin skin and definitely tasted like they were veggie. I think I actually prefer pork filling gyoza more.

20160706_195742

Last up was the Wild Sockeye Salmon and Toro Nigiri ($2) which had a small amount of rice under the fish. The salmon and tuna were both clean and fresh and there was a noticeable wasabi kick underneath.

20160706_200619

I think next time I’d pass on the veggie gyoza and just stick to the nigiri.

2252 Kingsway
Vancouver, BC

Sushi by Yuji Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Posted on September 19, 2016, in Japanese, Restaurant Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

