Breakfast Table: Coffee-Crusted Pork Belly Benedict

If you’ve been following my blog for a while, you’ll know that I love breakfast. So when I heard about a place called “Breakfast Table”, I pretty much knew that I had to come and try it out (although I was partly worried that I’d wind up in a furniture store… that’s my kind of luck).

Fortunately, this spot turned out to be, in fact, a restaurant that serves yummy breakfast fare. I was also fortunate that I showed up early because the small shop filled up with patrons rather quickly.

I decided to try their Coffee-crusted Pork Belly Benedict with soft poached eggs ($16). I also added a glass of their House-made Tanzanian Chocolate Milk ($4). Seriously… if you try anything in this restaurant, you’ve got to try this out.

20170304_081856

The chocolate milk is frothy and not overly bitter but you can definitely taste the flavour of the melted chocolate in the glass.

20170304_081906

The tender pork belly paired well with the coffee-crusted bark. Contrary to what you might think, there wasn’t an overt coffee flavour to the crust (which suited my preferences).

20170304_081917

The potatoes were okay but lacked a crispy exterior. The biggest issue I had with this dish was that I found a bit of eggshell in my eggs.

20170304_082011

I brought my sweetie here for a revisit the following week. However, since we showed up later in the morning, this place was very busy (read: loud). The Hangry ($15) is the type of dish to order if you’re, well, hangry. You get 3 eggs, 2 slice of bacons, savory chicken sausages, toast, and hash browns. To be honest, this dish was just a bit standard… you should really try their coffee-crusted pork belly.

20170318_101823

I opted for the Chicken Karaage Hash ($15) served with 2 eggs, green onions, sesame seeds, and Korean sweet chili over hash browns.

20170318_101900

The fried chicken was boneless and had a nice, light, crispness on the exterior.

20170318_101933

But seriously, if I haven’t mentioned it already… try the coffee-crusted pork belly!

1481 West Broadway
Vancouver, BC

www.breakfasttable.ca

Breakfast Table Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Posted on May 6, 2017, in Breakfast, Brunch, Restaurant Review and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. That pork belly dish is really the standout. I’ve tried many of the other plates on offer and they pale in comparison. Staff and owners are absolutely lovely.

Leave a Reply

